Dimitris Spouras was born in 1989 in Thessaloniki. He started his musical studies (1994) in the State Conservatory in Stavroupoli – Thessaloniki in the class of recorder under F. Terzis and then in the class of clarinet under the same teacher. He graduated in 2010 with the diploma in clarinet with great distinction and praise excellent performance. He studied harmony, counterpoint and fugue in the same conservatory under P. Bekiaridis and O. Solomonidou. He is a graduate of the music school in Thessaloniki and the ‘University of Macedonia – Thessaloniki’ in the department ‘Musical Science and Arts’ (2012 Bachelor of music) with the specialization clarinet – soloist under M. Mumulides and M. Ploumidis. Last year graduated from Royal Flemish conservatory in Antwerp (clarinet) under I. Lybeert and R. Dils and from orchestra conducting course at the same university under I. Venkov. He is continuing his studies in the Royal conservatory of Brussels (conducting) under B. Bouckaert and in Guildhall School of Music and Drama for postgraduate in clarinet (Orchestra Artistry Diploma – collaboration with London Symphony Orchestra) under professors Andrew Marriner, Nic Carpenter and Joy Farrall.
He has attended master classes with P. Radev, S. Mourikis, T. Sotiriadis and Zeretzke.
In 2014 he won the first prize and the special prize in the ‘First Hellenic Orchestra Conducting Competition with the State Orchestra of Thessalonki’. In 2005 he won the first prize in the Greek music schools competition. In 2006 he was chosen, after auditioning for a stage with the state orchestra of Thessaloniki and some months later he was chosen as the second clarinet in the Youth State Orchestra of Thessaloniki.
He has played as member of the orchestra in famous halls around Europe under the direction of S. Gordon, R. Long, K. Papazoglou, K. Trikolidis, T. Symeondis, G. Hadjinikos, M. Makraki and I. Venkov.
Since last year he is artistic director and chief conductor of the new ensemble Antwerpen Camerata and he has conducted the State Orchestra of Thessaloniki, the State Orchestra of Athens and the Russe Philharmonic Orchestra in Bulgaria.